NCWTS: Tim George Jr. takes first career pole at Kansas

April 21, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Richard Childress Racing

For the second-straight week, the NASCAR Camping World Trucks Series field will be led to the green flag by a rookie driver. This week, it’s Tim George Jr. taking that honor as he won his first career NASCAR pole for today’s SFP 250 at the Kansas Speedway.

Being the third-to-last truck to take time Saturday morning, George Jr. put his No.2 Chevrolet on the top spot after his lap of  172.436 mph knocked Jason Leffler from the top spot.

“It was pretty easy-breezy, but it was still nerve wracking,” said George Jr. after he found out he won the pole. “This is great for RCR. There’s a lot of veteran drivers out there, but we’re going to do our best to stick around up there all day.”

George Jr., a RCR development driver, has been racing in the ARCA division over the past few years. Today, he hopes that some of that experience can help him out as he leads the field to the green flag.

“We were good on 1.5 mile tracks in ARCA over the past couple years,” said George Jr. “So, we’re kind of hoping that helps us out today with the race.”

Starting to the outside of George Jr. will be the No. 18 of Jason Leffler.

Leffler, who has been bitten by the “bad luck bug” all season long, is looking to get his season turned around at the track where he won his first Sprint Cup pole back in 2001.

Series points leader, Timothy Peters, will look to continue his strong start to 2012 as he starts in the tenth position for today’s 167 lap event.

Justin Lofton, Jason White, and Ty Dillon round out the top-five starting spots for the SFP 250 at Kansas.

When the session was complete, two drivers withdrew from the staring field. Dennis Setzer and Mike Harmon both opted not to race after timing their way into the show. Jennifer Jo Cobb and Scott Stenzel will take their place.

Starting Lineup for the SFP 250 at Kansas Speedway 

  1. Tim George Jr.
  2. Jason Leffler
  3. Justin Lofton
  4. Jason White
  5. Ty Dillon
  6. James Buescher
  7. Joey Coulter
  8. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  9. Todd Bodine
  10. Timothy Peters
  11. Parker Kligerman
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Miguel Paludo
  14. Johnny Sauter
  15. Cale Gale
  16. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  17. Matt Crafton
  18. John Wes Townley
  19. John King
  20. Dakoda Armstrong
  21. Russ Dugger
  22. David Starr
  23. Max Gresham
  24. Ross Chastain
  25. Jeb Burton
  26. Brennan Newberry
  27. Paulie Harraka
  28. Chad McCumbee
  29. Bryan Silas
  30. Ryan Sieg
  31. Chris Fontaine
  32. Scott Stenzel
  33. Chris Jones
  34. Chris Cockrum
  35. Norm Benning
  36. Jennifer Jo Cobb




Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.