NCWTS: Ty Dillon grabs first career Truck Series pole

May 18, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Rainer Ehrhardt/Getty Images for NASCAR

CHARLOTTE,NC—For the first time in his young NASCAR career, Ty Dillon will start a race from the pole position by winning the pole for Friday night’s North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

After pacing the first practice session early in the morning, Dillon was the final of 41 trucks to take time. That would give Dillon the advantage of the track cooling down as clouds began to form around the Charlotte Motor Speedway.

“This is amazing, we’ve been really fast all day and I knew we had a shot,” said Dillon. “I Got my first pole at Charlotte, the track I grew up watching[racing] at.”

Before Dillon took to the track, Justin Lofton set fast time; nearly 1/4 of a second faster than any other truck in the field locking the two drivers onto the front row for Friday night’s 200 mile event.

Series points leader, Timothy Peters, will lineup from the fourth starting spot. Peters will try to keep his streak of four-straight top-five finishes going at the Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Joey Coulter, Timothy Peters, Jason Leffler, Matt Crafton, Jason White, Cale Gale, Brad Keselowkski, and James Buescher round out the top-10 starters for the race.

Failing to qualify for the race were; Johnny Chapman, Chris Cockrum, Jeff Agnew, Norm Benning, Chris Cockrum, and Wes Burton.

Starting Lineup for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 

  1. Ty Dillon
  2. Justin Lofton
  3. Joey Coulter
  4. Timothy Peters
  5. Jason Leffler
  6. Matt Crafton
  7. Jason White
  8. Cale Gale
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. James Buescher
  11. Brendan Gaughan
  12. Miguel Paludo
  13. Johnny Sauter
  14. Parker Kligerman
  15. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  16. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  17. Todd Bodine
  18. Ross Chastain
  19. John King
  20. Paulie Harraka
  21. Jeb Burton
  22. John Wes Townely
  23. Max Gresham
  24. Dakoda Armstrong
  25. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  26. Bryan Silas
  27. Ryan Sieg
  28. Jake Crum
  29. Brennan Newberry
  30. Chad McCumbee
  31. David Reutimann
  32. Chris Fontaine
  33. Clay Greenfield
  34. David Starr
  35. Caleb Holman
  36. Dennis Setzer
Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.