New Hampshire Motor Speedway Starting Lineup: Ryan Newman Tops Sprint Cup Qualifying, Stewart-Haas Racing Sweeps Front Row

July 16, 2011 No Comments

Todd Warshaw/Getty Images

Stewart-Haas Racing will bring the field to green on Sunday after sweeping the front row for the first time in team history.

Ryan Newman earned his first pole of the season, fifth at New Hampshire and 47th of his career after turning a lap of 135.232 mph (28.165 seconds).

The previous track record (133.572 mph) set by Brad Keselowski last year was not only shattered by Newman, but topped by 11 other drivers on Friday.

Stewart-Haas Racing teammate and owner Tony Stewart will start alongside Newman on Sunday in the Lenox Industrial Tools 301.

“It is awesome. Awesome for the organization,” said Stewart. “Congratulations to Ryan (Newman) and their guys. Proud of our guys too. We have an awesome weekend going.

“Thankful to Rick Hendrick and all his guys-the engine and chassis departments over there at Hendrick Motorsports. They’ve all done a great job of having a great landmark day for us today.”

David Reutimann, coming off an impressive second place finish at Kentucky Speedway, qualified third with the Penske duo of Kurt Busch and Brad Keselowski fourth and fifth, respectively.

Jeff Burton, the all-time wins leader at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, qualified sixth. Jeff Gordon, Juan Pablo Montoya, Paul Menard and Kasey Kahne rounded out the top ten.

Three drivers failed to qualify: Tony Raines, Dennis Setzer and Scott Riggs.

Here is the complete starting lineup for Sunday’s race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway (Live on TNT; 12:00 PM EST):
1. Ryan Newman
2. Tony Stewart
3. David Reutimann
4. Kurt Busch
5. Brad Keselowski
6. Jeff Burton
7. Jeff Gordon
8. Juan Pablo Montoya
9. Paul Menard
10. Kasey Kahne
11. Regan Smith
12. Clint Bowyer
13. Martin Truex Jr.
14. Denny Hamlin
15. Carl Edwards
16. Joey Logano
17. A.J. Allmendinger
18. Kevin Harvick
19. Kyle Busch
20. Greg Biffle
21. Brian Vickers
22. Marcos Ambrose
23. Bobby Labonte
24. Mark Martin
25. Jamie McMurray
26. David Ragan
27. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
28. Jimmie Johnson
29. David Stremme
30. Matt Kenseth
31. Casey Mears
32. Landon Cassill
33. Michael McDowell
34. David Gilliland
35. Joe Nemechek
36. Jeff Green
37. Dave Blaney
38. J.J. Yeley
39. Mike Skinner
40. Erik Darnell
41. Mike Bliss
42. Scott Wimmer
43. Andy Lally

Tags: , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.