NNS: Bashas’ Supermarket 200 preview

March 2, 2012 No Comments


Credit: Tom Pennington/ Getty Images

Credit: Tom Pennington/ Getty Images

Date: Saturday—March 3rd, 2012

Time: 4 p.m. ET—Green flag: 4:30 p.m. ET

Distance: 200 Laps/200 Miles

Broadcast: TV– ESPN

Radio– MRN


The start of the Kyle Busch Motorsports didn’t go as planned for owner and driver Kyle Busch as he recorded a DNF in last week’s season opening race. For Busch though there is good news, as the Nationwide series moves from Daytona to Phoenix.

Last year, Busch won the spring race at Phoenix International Speedway, although since that win the track has undergone a repave and re-design.

When the Series returned to Phoenix in November, Busch was not entered in the race because of an altercation the week before, and it was Sam Hornish Jr. who captured his first victory in NASCAR.

In both Phoenix races last year, passing was at a premium especially for the lead.

When Busch won the spring race there was only one other leader the entire event and that was the pace car. Busch dominated the spring race by leading all 200 laps.

There were three times as many leaders in the fall race last year, as Aric Almirola, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Hornish all lead the race.

Some of the drivers to watch this weekend will include the Dodges owned by Penske. Hornish drove one of the Penske Dodges to victory at the last race at Phoenix and his teammate, Brad Keselowski wasn’t far behind. Keselowski finished second in the November race.

Keselowski finished in the 34th position in the spring race last year, but he qualified fourth and was caught up in a wreck.

Both of the Roush-Fenway drivers were strong at Phoenix last year with Stenhouse posting two top-10 finishes. Trevor Bayne, like Keselowski, started in the top-10, but he finished in the garage due to a wreck.

In November, Bayne started third and finished in the sixth position.

Although Edwards won’t be in the race this year, he finished in the top-five in both Phoenix races last year, providing Roush-Fenway Racing with notes about the race.

By the numbers:

Two times the spring (March/April) race has been won by the pole, both by the same driver, Kyle Busch (2008, 2011)

The average starting position of the spring race winner is 6th. Although until 2005 there was only one race at Phoenix and that was held in November.

With 10 wins, Ford leads all manufactures in Wins at Phoenix, Ford’s last win in Phoenix win came in 2010 with Carl Edwards winning the November race.

Kyle Busch and Carl Edwards are tied at most wins at Phoenix; each driver has four victories at the one-mile track.

Entry List:

Car number in parentheses

  1. (01) Mike Wallace
  2. (2) Elliott Sadler
  3. (3) Austin Dillon
  4. (4) Danny Efland
  5. (6) Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  6. (7) Danica Patrick
  7. (108) Casey Roderick
  8. (09) Kenny Wallace
  9. (10) Jeff Green
  10. (11) Brian Scott
  11. (12) Sam Hornish Jr.
  12. (13) Jennifer Jo Cobb
  13. (14) Eric McClure
  14. (15) Timmy Hill
  15. (18) Denny Hamlin
  16. (19) Tayler Malsam
  17. (20) Joey Logano
  18. (22) Brad Keselowski
  19. (23) Jamie Dick
  20. (124) Benny Gordon
  21. (27) J J Yeley
  22. (28) David Green
  23. (30) James Buescher
  24. (31) Justin Allgaier
  25. (33) Kevin Harvick
  26. (38) Kasey Kahne
  27. (39) Joey Gase
  28. (40) Josh Wise
  29. (41) Blake Koch
  30. (42) Erik Darnell
  31. (43) Michael Annett
  32. (44) Mike Bliss
  33. (46) Chase Miller
  34. (47) Scott Speed
  35. (50) T. J. Bell
  36. (51) Jeremy Clements
  37. (52) Tim Schendel
  38. (54) Kyle Busch
  39. (60) Trevor Bayne
  40. (70) Charles Lewandoski
  41. (73) Derrike Cope
  42. (174) Mike Harmon
  43. (81) Jason Bowles
  44. (87) Joe Nemechek
  45. (88) Cole Whitt
  46. (89) Morgan Shepherd
Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.