NNS: Dollar General 300 Miles Of Courage Preview

October 12, 2011 No Comments

Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images North America


Date: Friday – October 14th, 2011
Time: 7:30 PM ET
Location: Charlotte Motor Speedway
Distance: 200 Laps/300 Miles
Broadcast: TV – ESPN2
Radio – PRN (Performance Racing Network)/Sirius XM Ch. 90


High: 74°F – Low: 48°F
Start Time: 66°F
End of Race:54°
Chance of Rain: 0%
Wind: From WSW at 14 mph

Preview Notes:

-Brad Keselowski steadily improved his finish at Charlotte, starting with a 34th-place result in 2006 and culminating with his win last season. The win moved Keselowski closer to clinching the 2010 Nationwide Series championship, which he accomplished just two races later in Texas.

-Keselowski, who will defend his title this week, captured last week’s race in Kansas City, leading 173 of the 200 laps for his 16th career win.

-With just four races remaining, Ricky Stenhouse Jr leads the points list. Stenhouse, who has not finished inside the top-10 in two fall starts at Charlotte, owns a 20-point advantage over Elliott Sadler. Stenhouse has held his own down the stretch with five straight top-10 finishes.

-In 2009, Kyle Busch outran Mike Bliss in the final laps to defend his title in the Dollar General 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Busch, who started fifth, led three times for 137 laps, including the final 55 for one of nine victories in that year. Busch completed the ’09 Nationwide season with victories in three of the last five races; en route to his first championship in one of NASCAR’s three national touring series.

-The pole sitter has won this race just four times, and not since Matt Kenseth did it in 2000. Harry Gant started 33rd and won the 1991 race, which is the furthest a driver has started and won a Nationwide event at Charlotte.

-Eight of the last 11 winners have been won from the top-10. In fact, only nine of the 29 Charlotte winners have started outside the top-10.

-The next Nationwide Series race is the November 5th running of the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge at Texas Motor Speedway. Carl Edwards won last year’s race there.

Entry List:

#01 Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Chevrolet/TBA

#1 Jamie McMurray (Joplin, MO) Chevrolet/Phoenix Construction

#2 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Chevrolet/One Main Financial

#03 Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC) Chevrolet/North Texas Pipe

#04 Tim Andrews (Concord, NC) Ford/Go Green Racing

#6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Brnch,MS) Ford/Blackwell Angus

#7 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/taxslayer.com

#08 Casey Roderick (Lawrenceville, GA) Ford/Randy Hill

#09 Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Toyota/Thank You Fans

#11 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Toyota/Doosan

#12 Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH) Dodge/Alliance Truck Parts

#14 Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA) Chevrolet/Hefty Black Out/Reynolds

#15 Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD) Ford/Poynt

#16 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/Fastenal

#18 Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Z-Line Designs

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Chevrolet/TBA

#20 Joey Logano (Middletown, CT) Toyota/Game Stop

#22 * Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hls, MI) Dodge/Discount Tire

#23 Robert Richardson Jr (McKinney, TX) Chevrolet/North Texas Pipe

#28 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Chevrolet/Maxelence

#30 Jason Leffler (Long Beach, CA) Chevrolet/AccuDoc

#31 Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL) Chevrolet/Brandt

#32 Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC) Chevrolet/Dollar General

#33 Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI) Chevrolet/Rheem/Menards

#38 Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA) Chevrolet/Great Clips

#39 Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA) Ford/Go Green Racing

#40 Charles Lewandoski (Staf. Sprs. CT) Chevrolet/Precisionwerx

#41 Johnny Chapman (Stony Point, NC) Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing

#42 To Be Announced Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#44 Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY) Chevrolet/TBA

#46 Chase Miller (Denver, NC) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#47 To Be Announced Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#48 Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC) Chevrolet/Acredale Vending

#49 Mark Green (Owensboro, KY) Chevrolet/Acredale Vending

#50 T.J. Bell (Reno, VA) Chevrolet/Liberty Tire Recyclers

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/Clements Racing Engines

#52 Kevin Lepage (Shelbourne, VT) Chevrolet/TBA

#60 Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO) Ford/Fastenal

#62 Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA) Toyota/Pilot Travel Centers/Flying J

#66 Steve Wallace (Charlotte, NC) Toyota/5-Hour Energy

#70 Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#71 Matthew Carter (Denver, NC) Ford/Rick Ware Racing

#74 Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL) Chevrolet/Mike Harmon Racing

#75 Carl Long (Roxboro, NC) Ford/mybrokenpalace.com

#81 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Dodge/daystar.com

#82 Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA) Dodge/MacDonald Motorsports

#87 Kevin Conway (Cornelius, NC) Toyota/Extenze

#88 Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL) Chevrolet/AdvoCare

#89 Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC) Chevrolet/Victory in Jesus Racing

#97 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/AM/FM Energy Pellet & Wood

#99 Ryan Truex (Mayetta, NJ) Toyota/Pastrana Waltrip Racing

Past Winners:

2010 Brad Keselowski, Dodge, 125.640 m.p.h.

2009 Kyle Busch, Toyota, 128.863 m.p.h.

2008 Kyle Busch, Toyota, 103.647 m.p.h.

2007 Jeff Burton, Chevrolet, 120.267 m.p.h.

2006 Dave Blaney, Chevrolet, 106.999 m.p.h.

2005 Ryan Newman, Dodge, 102.506 m.p.h.

2004 Mike Bliss, Chevrolet, 110.193 m.p.h.

2003 Greg Biffle, Chevrolet, 148.576 m.p.h.

2002 Jeff Burton, Ford, 142.443 m.p.h.

2001 Greg Biffle, Ford, 139.445 m.p.h.

2000 Matt Kenseth, Chevrolet, 145.064 m.p.h.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.