NNS: Elliott Sadler grabs pole for Sam’s Town 300

March 10, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Motor Racing Network

Last weekend, Elliott Sadler went back to victory lane for the first time since 1998 at Phoenix. This week, Sadler finds himself in a position he found five times in 2011 as he won the pole for Saturday’s Sam’s Town 300 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Sadler was able to capture his twelfth career NASCAR Nationwide Series pole with a lap of 181.366 mph. The pole marks his third consecutive top-10 start of the 2012 season, and also his first pole of the season. This is also Sadler’s first pole in six NNS starts at LVMS.

“A great run and a great effort by our guys,” Sadler said to SPEED after his pole lap. “We’ve been fast since we unloaded off the truck. Lots of momentum coming from Phoenix last weekend. 300 mile race is long, but if we can keep the track position we should be good all day.”

Pole sitter for Sunday’s Kobalt Tools 400, Kasey Kahne, will start to the outside of Sadler. Kahne held the pole late in the session, but Sadler was able to top his speed of 181.044 mph with only three cars remaining.

Austin Dillon continues to build on his strong start to the 2012 season by qualifying third, the fastest rookie in the starting field.

Brian Scott, Brad Keselowski, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Mark Martin, Justin Allgaier, Brendan Gaughan, and Jason Bowles round out the top-10 qualifying positions.

Starting Lineup for the Sam’s Town 300 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway 

  1. Elliot Sadler
  2. Kasey Kahne
  3. Austin Dillon
  4. Brian Scott
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  7. Mark Martin
  8. Justin Allgaier
  9. Brendan Gaughan
  10. Jason Bowles
  11. James Buescher
  12. Danica Patrick
  13. Sam Hornish Jr.
  14. Trevor Bayne
  15. Johanna Long
  16. Kyle Fowler
  17. Taylor Malsam
  18. Kenny Wallace
  19. Mike Bliss
  20. Kyle Busch
  21. Michael Annett
  22. Cole Whitt
  23. JJ Yeley
  24. Mike Wallace
  25. Jeremy Clements
  26. Scott Speed
  27. Eric McClure
  28. Jeff Green
  29. Benny Gordon
  30. Joey Gase
  31. Joe Nemechek
  32. Blake Koch
  33. Chase Miller
  34. Erik Darnell
  35. Tim Schendel
  36. Derrike Cope
  37. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  38. TJ Bell
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Robert Richardson Jr.
  41. Mike Harmon
  42. Daryl Harr
  43. Morgan Shepard


Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.