NNS: Kurt Busch Ousted Johnson On Final Restart At Glen

August 13, 2011 No Comments

Photo Credit: NASCAR Media Group

Kurt Busch gained control of the lead for the final time, from his brother, with just four laps left to win Saturday’s Zippo 200 Nationwide Series race at Watkins Glen International.

Busch ran away from nemesis Jimmie Johnson over the last two laps – a green-white-checkered finish – and edged Johnson to score the win. For Busch, this is exactly the finish he had hoped for.

Busch, who was substituting for the injured Brad Keselowski, was running close on fuel but said he didn’t give that a second thought during the run to the finish.

“I didn’t know where we were on fuel and didn’t really care about it,” he said. “You just kind of go off your hip and shoot. I knew it was going to be a fight to the finish.”

The entire race changed with just three laps to go, as Eric McClure and rookie Casey Roderick were involved in a crash, causing only the second caution of the race. As this was beneficial to the field, it was not however for Kurt Busch as his lead was wiped clean.

That set up a green-white-checkered finish, with Kurt Busch, Carl Edwards, Johnson, and Kyle Busch leading the field to the restart. The lineup put Johnson starting behind Kurt Busch, the pair having feuded recently.

It didn’t take long for Johnson to take over P2 on the restart, as Edwards spun his tires causing him to drop several spots. Even though Johnson was right behind Busch going into the first few turns, he didn’t have enough to make a move that would have sent him to Victory Lane instead of his arch nemesis, Busch.

Following the winner and Johnson in the top five were Joey Logano, Kyle Busch and Edwards.

The Busch brothers dominated the race, sharing the front of the pack with Edwards in the early going.

Unofficial Results: 

1 22 Kurt Busch
2 7 Jimmie Johnson
3 20 Joey Logano
4 18 Kyle Busch
5 60 Carl Edwards
6 33 Paul Menard
7 5 Ron Fellows
8 88 Aric Almirola
9 16 Trevor Bayne
10 2 Elliott Sadler
11 87 Joe Nemechek
12 31 Justin Allgaier
13 32 Reed Sorenson
14 11 Brian Scott
15 6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
16 66 Steve Wallace
17 30 James Buescher
18 38 Jason Leffler
19 62 Michael Annett
20 01 Mike Wallace
21 21 Tim George Jr.
22 19 Mike Bliss
23 23 Alex Kennedy
24 51 Jeremy Clements
25 39 Casey Roderick
26 97 Kyle Kelley
27 175 Tomy Drissi
28 40 Josh Wise
29 81 Blake Koch *
30 28 Derrike Cope
31 15 Timmy Hill *
32 09 Kenny Wallace
33 70 Dennis Setzer
34 89 Morgan Shepherd
35 14 Eric McClure
36 164 Jason Bowles
37 153 Andrew Ranger
38 167 J.R. Fitzpatrick
39 52 Dan Clarke
40 49 Mark Green
41 182 J.J. Yeley
42 113 T.J. Bell
43 44 Jeff Green


Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.