NNS: Logano takes top spot in qualifying for second straight week

March 24, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Getty Images of NASCAR

As many things change in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, some things just continue to stay the same. Even though Kyle Busch is not behind the wheel of Joe Gibbs’ No.18 in NNS competition at Auto Club Speedway, that doesn’t mean the car isn’t strong. A track in which Busch has scored five victories piloting that very car, expectations surely are set high.

For the second consecutive week, Joey Logano has taken that No.18 to the top of the charts in NNS qualifying as he won the pole for Saturday’s Royal Purple 300 at ACS. Logano, a past winner at the California oval, will share the front row with Justin Allgaier.

Logano, who was the thirty-eighth of forty-three cars to take time in Saturday’s session, captured his eighteenth career NNS pole with a lap of 178.984 mph, .403 seconds faster than second place qualifier, Allgaier

Series points leader and winner of two of the first four races, Elliot Sadler, will start Saturday’s 300 mile event from the fifth starting spot.

Defending race winner, Kyle Busch, will start the race from the fifteenth position in his self-owned Monster Energy Toyota. Busch will be looking for his first victory behind the wheel of his No.54.

Brad Keselowski, Austin Dillon, Elliot Sadler, Kenny Wallace, Brian Scott, Brendan Gaughan, Trevor Bayne, and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. round out the top-10 qualifiers.

Due to only 43 cars taking time in Saturday’s qualifying, no drivers failed to qualify for the race.

Starting Lineup for the Royal Purple 300 

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Justin Allgaier
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Austin Dillon
  5. Elliot Sadler
  6. Kenny Wallace
  7. Brian Scot
  8. Brendan Gaughan
  9. Trevor Bayne
  10. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  11. Sam Hornish Jr.
  12. Cole Whitt
  13. Jason Bowles
  14. Brad Sweet
  15. Kyle Busch
  16. Michael Annett
  17. James Buescher
  18. Mike Bliss
  19. Mike Wallace
  20. Joe Nemechek
  21. Danica Patrick
  22. Tayler Malsam
  23. Scott Speed
  24. Blake Koch
  25. Eric McClure
  26. Jeff Green
  27. TJ Bell
  28. Jeremy Clements
  29. Tim Andrews
  30. Josh Wise
  31. Erik Darnell
  32. Joey Gase
  33. Benny Gordon
  34. Tim Schendel
  35. Robert Richardson Jr.
  36. Chase Miller
  37. Morgan Shepard
  38. Kevin Lepage
  39. Daryl Harr
  40. David Green
  41. Mike Harmon
  42. John Jackson
  43. Scott Riggs


Tags: , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.