NNS: Sadler grabs pole for Dollar General 300

October 12, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR

Elliott Sadler and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. have been in a tight battle all year for the NASCAR Nationwide Series points championship.

Coming to the final stretch for the season, it was Sadler that grabbed the first victory in the race for that championship, as Sadler was the fastest of all the NNS drivers when it came to qualifying for Friday night’s race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

With a lap of  29.310 seconds/184.237 MPH, Sadler topped the speed charts of everyone to grab his fourth pole of the season.

“This race is so personal to me and my family,” the Virginia native, Sadler, said to ESPN reporters after his qualifying laps. “For me to sit on the pole is a great first step to wining the race tonight. ”

Sadler has never won a pole at Charlotte before in the NNS series, although he has sat on the pole in the Sprint Cup Series back in 2005.

Joining Sadler on the front row will be his teammate and current third place championship driver, Austin Dillon.

Starting in third place will be the pole sitter from the previous race this season at Charlotte is Joey Logano. Although Logano is not running for points in the NNS he does have the most wins this season in the series.

Fourth place is where Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will be starting the race from. Stenhouse was the fastest driver in the practice session and looked like he could challenge Sadler for the pole, however his car’s handling was not there on his qualifying laps and he will start on the outside of the second row.

Even though Sadler has the points lead and the best starting position for tonight, he said that he is focused on one thing, to win the race and get the maximum points for tonight.

“We can still win races and still be aggressive,” Sadler said after his qualifying laps.

Four drivers, T.J. Bell, Joey Gase, Matt Carter and Morgan Shepherd all failed to qualify on time for the race.

Dollar General 300 starting line-up: 

  1. Elliott Sadler
  2. Austin Dillon
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Brian Scott
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Sam Hornish Jr.
  11. Danica Patrick
  12. John Wes Townley
  13. Michael Annett
  14. Mike Bliss
  15. Brad Sweet
  16. Justin Allgaier
  17. Jeremy Clements
  18. James Buescher
  19. Cole Whitt
  20. Jason Bowles
  21. Kyle Fowler
  22. Ryan Blaney
  23. Stanton Barrett
  24. Kevin Lepage
  25. Eric McClure
  26. David Starr
  27. Jeff Green
  28. Jeffery Earnhardt
  29. Reed Sorenson
  30. J.J. Yeley
  31. Josh Wise
  32. Timmy Hill
  33. Joe Nemechek
  34. Chase Miller
  35. Angela Cope
  36. Charles Lewandoski
  37. Scott Riggs
  38. Wrik Darnell
  39. Danny Efland
  40. Mike Wallace
  41. Robert Richardson Jr.
  42. Tony Raines
  43. David Green
Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.