NNS Starting Lineup at Charlotte: Paul Menard Wins Second Pole of the Season

October 14, 2011 No Comments

Todd Warshaw/Getty Images

Paul Menard has won the pole for Friday night’s race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, topping Nationwide qualifying with a lap of 185.701 mph en route to his second pole of the 2011 season.

Menard, quickest in first practice, nudged points leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. from the provisional pole with a lap .04 seconds quicker. Trailing the two in Friday’s qualifying session was an onslaught of Cup drivers, led by last week’s winner Brad Keselowski. Joey Logano and Carl Edwards qualified fourth and fifth, respectively.

Kyle Busch, Sam Hornish Jr., Brian Scott, Brian Vickers and Justin Allgaier rounded out the top 10.

Championship contender Elliott Sadler, who trails Stenhouse by 20 points heading into Charlotte, qualified 12th. Reed Sorenson, third in points (-70), qualified 15th in his No. 82 machine for MacDonald Motorsports.

Chase Miller, in an unsponsored No. 46 Chevy, slammed the frontstretch wall hard during his qualifying lap. Miller was treated and released from the infield care center following the scary incident but he did not qualify on time. Joining Miller as the DNQ’s were: Carl Long, Mark Green, Matt Carter, Casey Roderick, Dennis Setzer.

Starting Lineup for Friday night’s Dollar General 300 Miles of Courage (7:30 PM ET on ESPN 2):
1. Paul Menard
2. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
3. Brad Keselowski
4. Joey Logano
5. Carl Edwards
6. Kyle Busch
7. Sam Hornish Jr.
8. Brian Scott
9. Brian Vickers
10. Justin Allgaier
11. Trevor Bayne
12. Elliott Sadler
13. Josh Wise
14. Aric Almirola
15. Reed Sorenson
16. Ryan Truex
17. Jason Leffler
18. Kasey Kahne
19. Steve Wallace
20. Kenny Wallace
21. Scott Speed
22. Michael Annett
23. Mike Bliss
24. Jeremy Clements
25. Tim Andrews
26. Scott Riggs
27. Blake Koch
28. Joe Nemechek
29. Erik Darnell
30. Johnny Chapman
31. T.J. Bell
32. Timmy Hill
33. Joey Gase
34. Eric McClure
35. Robert Richardson Jr.
36. Mike Wallace
37. Kevin Lepage
38. Charles Lewandoski
39. Morgan Shepherd
40. Kevin Conway
41. Derrike Cope
42. Angela Cope
43. Jeff Green

Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.