NNS: Talladega qualifying washed out, field set by points

May 3, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Al.com/sports

After rain soaked the Talledega Superspeedway for much of the day on Thursday, NASCAR opted to cancel Friday’s Nationwide Series qualifying for the Aaron’s 312.

Because of the rain, the field for Saturday’s race will bet set by owner points, per the NASCAR rule book.

That places series points leader, Elliott Sadler, on the pole for the Aaron’s 312.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Austin Dillon, Brad Sweet, James Buescher, Sam Hornish Jr., Brad Keselowski, and Michael Annett round out the top-ten starters for Saturday’s race.

With only 44 cars entered, one car was forced to go home. Blake Koch, driver of Rick Ware Racing’s No.75, was the driver forced to head home after the rain canceled the session.

Although qualifying has been canceled, the Nationwide Series will hold practice Friday at 12:10 p.m. ET for teams to prepare for Saturday’s race.

Starting Lineup for the Aaron’s 312 

  1. Elliott Sadler
  2. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Austin Dillon
  6. Brad Sweet
  7. James Buescher
  8. Sam Hornish Jr.
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Michael Annett
  11. Cole Witt
  12. Kyle Busch
  13. Justin Allgaier
  14. Talyer Malsam
  15. Mike Bliss
  16. Joe Nemechek
  17. Danica Patrick
  18. Ryan Truex
  19. Mike Wallace
  20. Kenny Wallace
  21. Jeremy Clements
  22. Brian Scott
  23. Danny Efland
  24. Johanna Long
  25. Jason Bowles
  26. John Wes Townley
  27. Erik Darnell
  28. Timmy Hill
  29. Eric McClure
  30. Tim Andrews
  31. Kurt Busch
  32. Jeff Green
  33. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  34. Robert Richardson Jr.
  35. TJ Bell
  36. Josh Richards
  37. Kevin Lepage
  38. Morgan Shepard
  39. Chase Miller
  40. Josh Wise
  41. Scott Speed
  42. Mike Harmon
  43. Jeffrey Earnhardt
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.