NNS: What 2 Watch 4- Lucas Oil Raceway

July 29, 2011 No Comments

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images


Date: Saturday, July 3oth, 2011
Time: 7:30 pm ET
Track: Lucas Oil Raceway
Laps: 200 ; Miles: 137.2
Broadcast: TV – ESPN 2 ; Radio – Sirius XM NASCAR

Saturday: High-92°F ; Low-73°F
10% Chance of Rain
Winds NE at 8mph

Courtesy of Weather.com

Preview- Notes 

-Edwards, who won last week for the fifth time in 19 Nationwide starts this year, has recorded 13 top-10 finishes and won this race in 2009. In his last nine starts on this circuit, Edwards has three wins and three runner-up finishes.

-Kyle Busch put on a dominating performance last year, but had to hold off a furious challenge from Edwards during a green-white-checkered finish to win the Kroger 200 Nationwide Series race at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

-An incident involving Joe Nemechek in the closing laps set up the two-lap overtime finish. Edwards made several attempts to pass Busch for the lead, but came up 0.2 seconds short of winning at ORP for the second year in a row.

-Edwards charged from the rear of the field and passed Busch in the closing laps to capture the 2009 running of the Kroger 200 Nationwide Series race. Edwards had to start from the back since Colin Braun qualified his car while Edwards participated in final Sprint Cup Series practice at nearby Indianapolis Motor Speedway. A rain-delayed qualifying session at IMS earlier in the day altered the Sprint Cup track schedule, forcing Edwards, Busch, Matt Kenseth and David Reutimann to start the 200-lap race at LOR from the rear.

-Edwards led for a race-high 72 laps, including the final 22, as he clipped Busch by 0.676 of a second. Pole sitter Trevor Bayne led the opening 34 laps, but faded to seventh.

-Kyle Busch dominated this race in 2008, leading 197 of the 200 laps, as he won for the 17th time in his Nationwide Series career. Busch defeated Colin Braun by 1.111 seconds to take the checkered flag. Braun, who started on the pole, never led in the race, as Busch took over from the onset, leading the opening 100 laps. After capturing his last start at Chicagoland, Busch’s win total now stands at 49.

-In 2007, Jason Leffler led only three laps, but it was the final trio that gave him his second career Nationwide Series victory, as he edged Greg Biffle by 1.009 seconds. The victory gave Toyota its first win in the series. Biffle and pole sitter Aric Almirola dominated the race, as Biffle led for a race- high 94 laps, while Almirola ran in front for 87 laps before finishing sixth.

-When Martin Truex Jr captured the Kroger 200 in 2005, he crossed the finish line 1.002 seconds ahead of Clint Bowyer. The victory was Truex Jr’s sixth of that campaign and the 12th of 13 career Nationwide titles.

-Randy LaJoie is the only driver to win this race in back-to-back seasons, when he took the checkered flags in 1996-97.

-The Kroger 200 is the only race on the NNS schedule that has had the same sponsor for all 30 seasons, 1982-2011, of the Series. The pole sitter has captured this race five times, the last coming in 2002 by Greg Biffle.

-The next Nationwide Series race is the August 6th running of the U.S. Cellular 250 at Iowa Speedway. Kyle Busch is the defending race winner.

Entry List

#01 Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Chevrolet/Cowboys and Aliens

#2 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Chevrolet/One Main Financial

#04 Danny O’Quinn (Coeburn, VA) Ford/Go Green Racing

#6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Branch,MS) Ford/Blackwell Angus

#7 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/iracing.com

#09 Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Toyota/Federated Auto Parts

#11 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Toyota/Shore Lodge

#13 Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS) Dodge/tenforjen.com

#14 Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA) Chevrolet/Hefty Black Out/Reynolds

#15 Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD) Ford/Rick Ware Racing

#16 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/Roush Fenway Racing

#18 Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ) Toyota/Muscle Milk

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Chevrolet/TriStar Motorsports

#20 Drew Herring (Benson, NC) Toyota/SportClips

#22 Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hls, MI) Dodge/Discount Tire

#23 Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#28 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Chevrolet/Maxelence

#30 James Buescher (Plano, TX) Chevrolet/FOE

#31 Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL) Chevrolet/TBA

#32 Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA) Chevrolet/Dollar General

#33 Austin Dillon (Lewisville, NC) Chevrolet/Rheem/Menards

#38 Jason Leffler (Long Beach, CA) Chevrolet/Great Clips

#39 Matt Frahm (North Salem, NH) Ford/Gilcrest Steel

#40 Charles Lewandoski (Staf. Sprs. CT) Chevrolet/TBA

#41 To Be Announced Ford/Carport Empire

#42 Tim Andrews (Concord, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#44 Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY) Chevrolet/TBA

#46 Chase Miller (Denver, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#47 Brett Rowe (Barboursville, WV) Chevrolet/TBA

#49 Mark Green (Owensboro, KY) Chevrolet/TBA

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/racedaysponsor.com

#52 Tim Schendel (Sparta, WI) Chevrolet/TBA

#60 Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO) Ford/Fastenal

#62 Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA) Toyota/Pilot Travel Centers/Flying J

#66 Steve Wallace (Charlotte, NC) Toyota/5-Hour Energy

#70 David Stremme (South Bend, IN) Chevrolet/Keen Parts Inc.

#71 Carl Long (Roxboro, NC) Ford/TBA

#74 Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL) Chevrolet/IPT Pellet Grills

#75 Johnny Chapman (Stony Point, NC) Ford/Lilly Trucking

#81 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Dodge/daystar.com

#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/NEMCO Motorsports

#88 Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL) Chevrolet/Grand Touring Vodka

#89 Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC) Chevrolet/Victory in Jesus Racing

#99 Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD) Toyota/Boost Mobile


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.