NNS: What 2 Watch 4- Zippo 200 at The Glen

August 12, 2011 No Comments

Photo Credit: RacingOne/Getty Images


Date: Saturday, August 13th, 2011
Time: 2pm ET
Track: Watkins Glen International
Laps: 82 ; Miles: 200.9
Broadcast: TV – ESPN2 ; Radio – MRN/Sirius XM NASCAR

Sunday: High-84°F ; Low-66°F
40% Chance of Rain
Winds S at 8mph

Courtesy of Weather.com

Preview Notes: 

-In 74 career Nationwide Series starts, Marcos Ambrose has three wins. Not bad, especially when you consider all three of them came at Watkins Glen International.

-Kevin Harvick scored his 31st of 37 career Nationwide victories by winning the 2007 race.

-In 2006, Kurt Busch crossed the finish line 0.558 seconds ahead of Robby Gordon for his second and last Nationwide Series career title.

-Ryan Newman hung on in 2005 to edge Robby Gordon by less than a second for his second career Nationwide title. Newman did not have enough fuel to drive into Victory Lane, but he did cross the finish line 0.846 seconds ahead of Gordon.

-This will be the 18th Nationwide race at Watkins Glen. Terry Labonte was a four-time winner of this race, while Ron Fellows captured the event three times.

-The next Nationwide Series race is the August 20 NAPA Auto Parts 200 at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal, Canada. Boris Said is the defending race winner.

Entry List:

#01 Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Chevrolet/TBA

#2 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Chevrolet/One Main Financial

#5 Ron Fellows (Mississauga, Ontario) Chevrolet/Canadian Tire

#6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Branch,MS) Ford/Roush Fenway Racing

#7 Jimmie Johnson (El Cajon, CA) Chevrolet/Jimmie Johnson’s Anything

#09 Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Toyota/TBA

#11 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Toyota/Shore Lodge

#13 Dan Brode (Mocksville, NC) Dodge/drivenmale.com

#14 Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA) Chevrolet/Hefty Black Out/Reynolds

#15 Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD) Ford/Rick Ware Racing

#16 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/Roush Fenway Racing

#18 Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Z-Line Designs

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Chevrolet/TriStar Motorsports

#20 Joey Logano (Middletown, CT) Toyota/Game Stop

#21 Tim George Jr. (New York, NY) Chevrolet/Applebee’s Potomac Family

#22 Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Dodge/Discount Tire/Ruby Tuesday

#23 Alex Kennedy (Aztec, NM) Dodge/Primalyn Ent/Dream Factory

#28 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Chevrolet/maxelence.com

#30 James Buescher (Plano, TX) Chevrolet/TBA

#31 Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL) Chevrolet/Florida Gulf Safe

#32 Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA) Chevrolet/Dollar General

#33 Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI) Chevrolet/Rheem/Menards

#38 Jason Leffler (Long Beach, CA) Chevrolet/Great Clips

#39 Casey Roderick (Lawrenceville, GA) Ford/TBA

#40 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/TBA

#41 Tomy Drissi (Hollywood, CA) Ford/Alvin and the Chipmunks

#42 Tim Andrews (Concord, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#44 Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY) Chevrolet/TBA

#46 Chase Miller (Denver, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#47 Charles Lewandoski (Staf. Sprs. CT) Chevrolet/TBA

#49 Mark Green (Owensboro, KY) Chevrolet/TBA

#50 To Be Announced Chevrolet/TBA

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/racedaysponsor.com

#52 To Be Announced Chevrolet/TBA

#53 Andrew Ranger (Roxton Pond, Canada) Dodge/Bollegraaf/Lobo USA

#60 Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO) Ford/Fastenal

#62 Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA) Toyota/Pilot Travel Centers/Flying J

#64 Jason Bowles (Ontario, CA) Toyota/TBA

#66 Steve Wallace (Charlotte, NC) Toyota/5-Hour Energy

#67 J.R. Fitzpatrick (Ontario, Canada) Ford/Go Canada Racing

#70 Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#71 Chris Cook (Phoenix, AZ) Ford/Rick Ware Racing

#75 Johnny Chapman (Stony Point, NC) Ford/Rick Ware Racing

#81 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Dodge/daystar.com

#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/TBA

#88 Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL) Chevrolet/Ragu

#89 Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC) Chevrolet/Victory in Jesus Racing

#97 Kyle Kelley (Huntington Beach, CA) Chevrolet/TBA


Tags: , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.