NNS: WYPALL 200 Preview – Phoenix International Raceway

November 9, 2011 No Comments

Photo Credit: Getty Images for NASCAR


Date: Saturday – November 12th, 2011
Time: 3:30 PM ET
Location: Phoenix International Raceway
Distance: 200 Laps/200 Miles
Broadcast: TV – ESPN2
Radio – MRN (Motor Racing Network)/Sirius XM Ch. 90


High: 67°F – Low: 49°F
Start Time: 65°F
End of Race: 62°
Chance of Rain: 40%
Wind: From S at 11 mph


-Two races and just 17 points separate Ricky Stenhouse Jr and Elliott Sadler in the race for the Nationwide Series title. Stenhouse increased his lead over Elliott last week, as he finished sixth, while Sadler placed ninth.

-The driver with the huge advantage however is three-time defending champion Carl Edwards. Not only has Edwards won this race three consecutive seasons, he has also won here back in 2005 and has not finished outside the top-7 in six appearances.

-This season, Edwards has posted eight wins and 21 top-five finishes in 31 starts and has not finished outside the top-10 in 13 straight starts, winning four times.

Next Up: Homestead-Miami Speedway

Entry List:

#01 Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Chevrolet/I Hate Steven Singer

#02 Daryl Harr (St. Albert, Canada) Chevrolet/WestWorld Computers

#2 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Chevrolet/One Main Financial

#04 Tim Andrews (Concord, NC) Ford/Go Green Racing

#6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Brnch,MS) Ford/Roush Fenway Racing

#7 Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL) Chevrolet/GoDaddy.com

#09 Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Toyota/TBA

#11 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Toyota/Shore Lodge

#12 Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH) Dodge/Alliance Truck Parts

#13 Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS) Dodge/Lerner and Rowe

#14 Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA) Chevrolet/Hefty Black Out/Reynolds

#15 Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD) Ford/Poynt/Lilly Trucking

#16 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/Roush Fenway Racing

#18 Joey Logano (Middletown, CT) Toyota/GameStop

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Chevrolet/Millennium Salon

#20 Ryan Truex (Mayetta, NJ) Toyota/Martin Truex Jr. Foundation

#22 Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hls, MI) Dodge/Discount Tire

#23 Robert Richardson Jr (McKinney, TX) Chevrolet/North Texas Pipe

#28 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Dodge/Maxelence

#30 James Buescher (Plano, TX) Chevrolet/Exide

#31 Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL) Chevrolet/Brandt

#32 Ron Hornaday Jr. (Bakersfield, CA) Chevrolet/Dollar General

#33 Clint Bowyer (Emporia, KS) Chevrolet/Rheem Cooling and Heating

#34 Ricky Carmichael (Clearwater, FL) Chevrolet/Monster Energy

#38 Jason Leffler (Long Beach, CA) Chevrolet/Great Clips

#39 Mark Frahm (North Salem, NH) Ford/Go Green Racing

#40 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#41 Johnny Chapman (Stony Point, NC) Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing

#42 Erik Darnell (Beach Park, FL) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#44 Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY) Chevrolet/TBA

#46 Chase Miller (Denver, NC) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#47 Scott Speed (Manteca, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#48 Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC) Chevrolet/Acredale Vending

#49 Mark Green (Owensboro, KY) Chevrolet/Acredale Vending

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/Clements Racing Engines

#52 Kevin Lepage (Shelbourne, VT) Chevrolet/TBA

#60 * Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO) Ford/World Financial Group

#62 Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA) Toyota/Pilot Travel Centers/Flying J

#66 Steve Wallace (Charlotte, NC) Toyota/5-Hour Energy

#70 David Stremme (South Bend, IN) Chevrolet/Foretravel

#71 Matthew Carter (Denver, NC) Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing

#75 Carl Long (Roxboro, NC) Ford/Rick Ware Racing

#80 D.J. Kennington (St. Thomas, Canada) Dodge/Northern Pacific Pipes Lines

#81 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Dodge/daystar.com

#82 Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA) Dodge/Foametix/Bullet Liner

#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/AM/FM Energy

#88 Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL) Chevrolet/Suave Men

#89 Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC) Chevrolet/Victory in Jesus Racing

Past winners
2010 Carl Edwards, Ford, 107.063 m.p.h.

2009 Carl Edwards, Ford, 100.798 m.p.h.

2008 Carl Edwards, Ford, 95.374 m.p.h.

2007 Kyle Busch, Chevrolet, 89.111 m.p.h.

2006 Matt Kenseth, Ford, 91.202 m.p.h.

2005 Carl Edwards, Ford, 97.893 m.p.h.

2004 Jamie McMurray, Dodge, 96.031 m.p.h.

2003 Bobby Hamilton Jr, Ford, 96.734 m.p.h.

2002 Scott Wimmer, Pontiac, 96.709 m.p.h.

2001 Greg Biffle, Chevrolet, 99.834 m.p.h.

2000 Jeff Burton, Ford, 115.145 m.p.h. (race record)

1999 Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 115.053 m.p.h.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.