NSCS: Biffle wins record breaking Samsung Mobile 500 at Texas

April 15, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images for NASCAR

It was 49 races ago that current points leader last visited victory lane, that was in Kansas in 2010. After Saturday night though, Greg Biffle can call himself a winner again.

Biffle had started off the season with three third place finishes to grab the points lead, but he hadn’t claimed victory yet. The next three races, Biffle slipped a little, but he never finished outside the top-15.

“I knew it was a matter of time until I was going to win one of these,” Biffle said to media members after the race.

Coming to Texas though, Biffle was pegged to be one of the best drivers that could win this weekend. Biffle finished second both practice sessions this weekend, and hestarted third in the race.

Despite leading the race early on, it wasn’t until 30 laps to go that Biffle was able to get by Jimmie Johnson for the lead. From then on all Biffle had to battle were the strong winds that had hampered the race all night long.

Neither the wind or Johnson would stop Biffle from getting the win.

“I was foaming at the mouth [going for the win after 49 winless races],” Biffle said. “I was doing all I could. I saw a little something with 40 to go.”

Biffle took the lead away from Johnson who dominated much of the middle part of the race. Johnson tried to get back to Biffle, but eventually hit the wall and would have to settle for second.

“Before I knew it, Biffle was there and passed me,” Johnson said after the race to Speed reporters. “There was nothing I could do.”

Saturday’s race was unique, not because Biffle took away the lead with 30 laps to go, or that it was windy, but the fact that for 234 laps the race went green.

Before Saturday, the previous record number for least amount of cautions in a Texas race were five cautions. Saturday, there were only two cautions. The first one was for debris on lap 68 and the second was for when Trevor Bayne tagged the wall in turns three and four on lap 95.

For Biffle, it was his second win at Texas, but for his crew chief, Matt Puccia, it was his first win. All season long, Biffle had credited Puccia for his early season success and now he can credit him with his first win.

“We had been trying so hard,” Biffle said to Speed reporters after the win. “It sure was great to be able to win like we did tonight.”

In addition to breaking a record for the least number of cautions, Saturday’s race also set a record for the fastest race in Texas Motor Speedway history. Previously the record was from last November when the average race speed was  152.705 mph. Saturday the speed was bumped up to 160.577 mph.

Rounding out the top five were Mark Martin in third, Jeff Gordon in fourth and Matt Kenseth in fifth.

Next week the Sprint Cup series will be at Kansas speedway.

Race Results:

  1. Greg Biffle
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Mark Martin
  4. Jeff Gordon
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Carl Edwards
  9. Kevin Harvick
  10. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  11. Kyle Busch
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Kurt Busch
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. A.J. Allmendinger
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. Clint Bowyer
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Joey Logano
  20. Marcos Ambrose
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Aric Almirola
  23. Regan Smith
  24. Tony Stewart
  25. Casey Mears
  26. David Reutimann
  27. Bobby Labonte
  28. Trevor Bayne
  29. Jeff Burton
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. David Gilliland
  32. Reed Sorenson
  33. J.J. Yeley
  34. Tony raines
  35. David Ragan
  36. Brad Keselowski
  37. Dave Blaney
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Mike Bliss
  41. Michael McDowell
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Scott Speed


Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.