NSCS: Food City 500 Preview – Bristol Motor Speedway

March 16, 2012 No Comments

Photo by: Jason Smith/Getty Images


Date: Sunday – March 18th, 2012
Time: 1 p.m. ET – Green Flag: 1:13 p.m. ET
Location: Bristol Motor Speedway
Distance: 500 Laps/266.5 Miles
Broadcast: TV – FOX
Radio – PRN (Performance Racing Network)/Sirius XM Ch. 90


High: 73°F – Low: 52°F
Start Time: 71°F
End of Race: 65°
Chance of Rain: 50%
Wind: From S at 5 mph


-Never count out Kyle Busch
-Busch has won five Sprint Cup Series races at Bristol — three in the spring and two in the August night-time event. He also has four Nationwide and three Camping World Truck Series victories at this track.
-Last year’s Bristol spring race marked Kyle Busch’s 90th combined victory in Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Truck Series competition.
-Repeating at Bristol Motor Speedway is certainly the norm, as seven drivers over the years have posted back-to-back titles eight times there. Busch will try to join that list on Sunday.
-Kurt Busch, a five-time winner at BMS, was the last driver to repeat as champion, when he won three straight from 2002-04. Other repeat winners are; Rusty Wallace, Jeff Gordon, Cale Yarborough (twice), Darrell Waltrip, Dale Earnhardt and David Pearson.
-When Cale Yarborough won this race in 1973, he led all 500 laps.
-Jeff Gordon and Darrell Waltrip have won this event four straight years. Gordon from 1995-98 and Waltrip from 1981-84.
-Waltrip won 12 races at Bristol, more than any other driver. Gordon has an amazing five wins and 20 top-10s at this track with an average finish of 11.6, leading 2,440 laps in 36 races. Yarborough and Mark Martin are nine-time pole winners at BMS.
-There has been only one race run caution-free at Bristol, the 1971 Volunteer 500, won by Charlie Glotzbach.
-The late-Dale Earnhardt won this race five times.
-There have been 102 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Bristol since the track opened in 1961. The race has been won from the Pole on 22 occasions at Bristol, the most of any starting position. Eleven of those have come in the spring race; 11 in the fall.

Next Up: Auto Club Speedway – Fontana, CA (March 25, 2012) 

Fantasy Racing Picks:

Group A: Kyle Busch, Jimmie Johnson, Carl Edwards and Matt Kenseth
Group B:
Greg Biffle, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Martin Truex Jr. and Kurt Busch
Group C: Brian Vickers and Aric Almirola
Analysis: Kyle Busch has won four of the last six races at Bristol Motor Speedway. During the last four races at Bristol, Jimmie Johnson has an average finish of 8.1, led 478 laps, had one pole and won one race.

Entry List: 

#1 Jamie McMurray (Joplin, MO) Chevrolet/McDonald’s
#2 Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI) Dodge/Miller Lite
#5 Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA) Chevrolet/Farmers Insurance
#7 Robby Gordon (Orange, CA) Dodge/Speed Energy
#9 Marcos Ambrose (Launceston, Australia) Ford/Mac Tools
#10 David Reutimann (Zephyrhills, FL) Chevrolet/Tommy Baldwin Racing
#11 Denny Hamlin (Chesterfield, VA) Toyota/FedEx Ground
#13 Casey Mears (Bakersfield, CA) Ford/GEICO
#14 Tony Stewart (Columbus, IN) Chevrolet/Office Depot/Mobil 1
#15 Clint Bowyer (Emporia, KS) Toyota/TBA
#16 Greg Biffle (Vancouver, WA) Ford/811-3M
#17 Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI) Ford/Best Buy
#18 * Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Wrigley
#20 Joey Logano (Middletown, CT) Toyota/Home Depot
#22 A.J. Allmendinger (Los Gatos, CA) Dodge/Shell/Pennzoil
#23 Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC) Chevrolet/North Texas Pipe
#24 Jeff Gordon (Vallejo, CA) Chevrolet/Drive to End Hunger
#26 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Ford/Morristown Driver’s Service
#27 Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI) Chevrolet/Menards/Moen
#29 Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA) Chevrolet/Budweiser
#30 David Stremme (South Bend, IN) Toyota/Inception Motorsports
#31 Jeff Burton (South Boston, VA) Chevrolet/BB&T
#32 Ken Schrader (Fenton, MO) Ford/TBA
#33 Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/South Point Casino
#34 David Ragan (Unadilla, GA) Ford/TBA
#36 Dave Blaney (Hartford, OH) Chevrolet/Widow
#37 Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD) Ford/poynt.com
#38 David Gilliland (Riverside, CA) Ford/Taco Bell
#39 Ryan Newman (South Bend, IN) Chevrolet/Quicken Loans
#40 Tony Raines (LaPorte, IN) Toyota/LittleJoe’sAuto.com
#42 Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia) Chevrolet/Target
#43 Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL) Ford/Charter Communications
#47 Bobby Labonte (Corpus Christi, TX) Toyota/Clorox/Scott Products
#48 Jimmie Johnson (El Cajon, CA) Chevrolet/Lowe’s/Kobalt Tools
#49 J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ) Toyota/America Israel Racing
#51 Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/Phoenix Construction
#55 Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC) Toyota/Aaron’s
#56 Martin Truex Jr. (Mayetta, NJ) Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts
#74 Stacy Compton (Hurt, VA) Chevrolet/Turn One Racing
#78 Regan Smith (Cato, NY) Chevrolet/Furniture Row Racing
#83 Landon Cassill (Cedar Rapids, IA) Toyota/Burger King/Dr. Pepper
#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/AM FM Energy Wood Pellet
#88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Kannapolis, NC) Chevrolet/Diet Mt. Dew/Nat Guard
#93 Travis Kvapil (Janesville, WI) Toyota/Burger King/Dr. Pepper
#98 Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ) Ford/Curb Records
#99 Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO) Ford/Kellogg’s

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.