NSCS: Hollywood Casino 400 Preview

October 5, 2011 No Comments

Photo Credit: Getty Images for NASCAR



Date: Sunday – October 9th, 2011
Time: 2 PM ET
Location: Kansas Speedway
Distance: 267 Laps/400.5 Miles
Broadcast: TV – ESPN
Radio – MRN/Sirius XM Ch. 90


High: 80°F – Low: 54°F
Start Time: 78°F
Chance of Rain: 30%
Wind: From SSE at 10 mph

Fantasy Racing Picks:

Target: Jeff Gordon, Greg Biffle, Tony Stewart, Jimmie Johnson, Carl Edwards, and Clint Bowyer

Avoid: Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, and Jeff Burton

Analysis: Jeff Gordon has five top-fives in the last six races at Kansas Speedway. Stewart has led 133 laps in the last two and a half years.

Bargain: Paul Menard led 11 laps and finished P8 last year (finished P19 last June).


-Greg Biffle continued his impressive running at Kansas Speedway, as he raced to victory last year for his second win in the last four at the midwest track. Unfortunately, Biffle is on the outside looking in this year, as he ranks 15th on the points list and out of the Chase.

-After three races, the standings have tightened up, as Carl Edwards and Kevin Harvick are deadlocked at the top, with Tony Stewart and last week’s winner Kurt Busch just nine points back. With seven races to go, just 19 points separate the top nine drivers.

-Although out of the Chase, Biffle might be the man to beat, as he has recorded six top-4 finishes at this race in the past seven seasons, including the two wins.

-In 2009 Tony Stewart gambled with a two-tire stop late in the race. He exited the pits first and grabbed the lead with 30 laps remaining.

-Jimmie Johnson became the second pole sitter in the history of this race to take the checkered flag, as he defeated the ever-fast Carl Edwards by 0.280 of a second in 2008.

-In 2007, Greg Biffle led the final 37 laps, as he defeated Clint Bowyer under the caution for the 12th of his 16 career Sprint Cup titles.

-When Tony Stewart won in 2006, he led only for five laps, but it was the last five, as he finished well ahead of Casey Mears for the title.

Background of Kansas Speedway: The top-5 position has won this race five times in the ten-year history, twice coming from the pole. The furthest back a driver has come to win this race was from the 21st position on the grid, when Tony Stewart won in 2006. Seven of the nine races that ended under green had a margin of victory under one second. The 2007 race ended under caution. There have been ten NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Kansas, all at Kansas Speedway.

Next Up: Bank of America 500 from the Charlotte Motor Speedway 

Entry List: 

#00 David Reutimann (Zephyrhills, FL) Toyota/Aaron’s Dream Machine

#1 Jamie McMurray (Joplin, MO) Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops

#2 Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI) Dodge/Miller Lite

#4 Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA) Toyota/Red Bull

#5 Mark Martin (Batesville, AR) Chevrolet/GoDaddy.com/Carquest

#6 David Ragan (Unadilla, GA) Ford/UPS

#7 Robby Gordon (Orange, CA) Dodge/Speed Energy/Mapei

#9 Marcos Ambrose (Launceston, Australia) Ford/DeWalt

#11 Denny Hamlin (Chesterfield, VA) Toyota/FedEx Freight

#13 Casey Mears (Bakersfield, CA) Toyota/GEICO

#14 Tony Stewart (Columbus, IN) Chevrolet/Office Depot/Mobil 1

#16 * Greg Biffle (Vancouver, WA) Ford/Sherwin Williams

#17 Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI) Ford/Crown Royal

#18 Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/M&M’s

#20 Joey Logano (Middletown, CT) Toyota/Home Depot

#22 Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Dodge/Shell/Pennzoil

#24 Jeff Gordon (Vallejo, CA) Chevrolet/DuPont

#27 Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI) Chevrolet/Menards/Schrock

#29 Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA) Chevrolet/Budweiser

#30 David Stremme (South Bend, IN) Chevrolet/Inception Motorsports

#31 Jeff Burton (South Boston, VA) Chevrolet/Caterpillar

#32 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Ford/Street King

#33 Clint Bowyer (Emporia, KS) Chevrolet/Cheerios/Hamb. Helper

#34 David Gilliland (Riverside, CA) Ford/A&W All American Food

#36 Dave Blaney (Hartford, OH) Chevrolet/Big Red

#37 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Ford/TBA

#38 Travis Kvapil (Janesville, WI) Ford/Long John Silver’s

#39 Ryan Newman (South Bend, IN) Chevrolet/Haas Automation

#42 Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia) Chevrolet/Target

#43 A.J. Allmendinger (Los Gatos, CA) Ford/Best Buy

#46 Scott Speed (Manteca, CA) Ford/Red Line Oil

#47 Bobby Labonte (Corpus Christi, TX) Toyota/Bush’s Beans/Kingsford

#48 Jimmie Johnson (El Cajon, CA) Chevrolet/Lowe’s

#51 Landon Cassill (Cedar Rapids, IA) Chevrolet/Security Benefits

#55 J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ) Ford/TBA

#56 Martin Truex Jr. (Mayetta, NJ) Toyota/NAPA Auto Brakes

#60 Mike Skinner (Susanville, CA) Chevrolet/Big Red

#66 Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ) Toyota/Victory Junction

#71 Andy Lally (Northport, NY) Ford/Interstate Moving Services

#78 Regan Smith (Cato, NY) Chevrolet/Furniture Row Racing

#83 Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC) Toyota/Red Bull

#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/TBA

#88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Kannapolis, NC) Chevrolet/Amp Energy/Nat’l Guard

#95 David Starr (Houston, TX) Ford/AdvoCare

#98 Austin Dillon (Lewisville, NC) Chevrolet/Pres.Reagan Centennial

#99 Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO) Ford/Aflac

Past winners

2010 Greg Biffle, Ford, 138.077 m.p.h. (race record)

2009 Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 137.144 m.p.h.

2008 Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 133.549 m.p.h.

2007 Greg Biffle, Ford, 104.981 m.p.h.

2006 Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 121.753 m.p.h.

2005 Mark Martin, Ford, 137.774 m.p.h.

2004 Joe Nemechek, Chevrolet, 128.058 m.p.h.

2003 Ryan Newman, Dodge, 121.630 m.p.h.

2002 Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 119.394 m.p.h.

2001 Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 110.576 m.p.h.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.