NSCS: Kyle Busch on the pole for the Sprint All-Star Race

May 18, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Jamie Squire/Getty Images

CHARLOTTE,NC—For the second consecutive year, Kyle Busch will start on the pole for the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race. Going out last in the session after topping the charts in practice during the afternoon, the Las Vegas native grabbed the top spot for the All-Star Race for the third time in his career.

“It’s just a whole team effort, that’s what it boils down to,” said Busch after winning the pole. “Guys unload with a really good car today. We knew we’d be pretty quick here and thought we had a pretty good shot for the pole. Going out last, that always helps.

“I think we got a little system going on for this place,” said Busch. “That’s our second straight pole for this race. Just proud of Dave Rogers[crew chief] and all the guys on this team.”

Busch will be going for his first as well as the first victory for Joe Gibbs Racing in the Sprint All-Star Race on Saturday night.

After going out second, Ryan Newman held onto the provisional pole for the majority of the 20 car session only to be topped by Busch at the very end of the session.

Denny Hamlin, Greg Biffle, Kevin Harvick and Jimmie Johnson all made challenges to Newman’s early time but were unsuccessful in knocking him off the top spot.

While pit crews can play a major role in placing a driver in a prime starting position, they can also hurt the team with a simple penalty.

Matt Kenseth, Mark Martin,Kurt Busch, Marcos Ambrose, and Brad Keselowski  were subject to penalty, placing them far down the starting order for Saturday night’s All-Star Race. Each of the drivers with penalties during qualifying will start 15th through 19th on Saturday night.

Kasey Kahne, who was one of the first cars to take time, wrecked his No.5 Chevrolet on his third and final lap. Kahne qualified for the race in the 20th position in a backup car.

Starting Lineup for the Sprint All-Star Race 

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Ryan Newman
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Greg Biffle
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Jimmie Johnson
  7. Paul Menard
  8. Jeff Gordon
  9. Tony Stewart
  10. Regan Smith
  11. Trevor Bayne
  12. Clint Bowyer
  13. Carl Edwards
  14. David Ragan
  15. Matt Kenseth
  16. Mark Martin
  17. Kurt Busch
  18. Marcos Ambrose
  19. Brad Keselowski
  20. Kasey Kahne
Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.