NSCS: Truex Jr. grabs pole for Saturday night

April 13, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR

Martin Truex Jr. held off teammates and former Texas Motor Speedway winners to claim the pole for Saturday night’s Samsung Mobile 500.

Truex’s lap of 28.366 seconds/190.369 mph bested the rest of the 45 cars that were attempting to qualify for Saturday’s race.

It is his seventh career pole and his second career pole at the mile and half track that is Texas. He previously sat on the pole for the November 2007 Sprint Cup Series race at Texas.

“Means a lot to get pole, for all these guys,” Truex Jr. said after his qualifying lap to Speed Reporters. “We are starting to gel as a team.”

Currently sitting sixth in points, this is the second top-10 start for Truex Jr. in the 2012 season.

“[I'm] having so much fun again driving these cars again,” Truex said of his qualifying lap and season.

Based off the first practice, Truex Jr., was the 35th driver to qualify for Saturday’s race. His lap had to survive former Texas winners of Kasey Kahne, Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth and Greg Biffle and Michael Waltrip racing teammate, as well as 1998 winner, Mark Martin.

In the end only Kenseth and Biffle came close to knocking Truex off the pole. They qualified second and third respectively.

This is the first time since April 2010 that a car manufacturer, other than a Ford, has sat on the pole at Texas motor speedway.

Rounding out the top-five for Saturday’s race is Mark Martin in fourth and Kasey Kahne in fifth, he is also the fastest qualifying Chevrolet.  Brad Keselowski who qualified eighth was the fastest qualifying Dodge.

Missing the race were Stacy Compton, Joe Nemechek and, for the first time in the 2012 season, David Stremme.

Starting Lineup: 

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Matt Kenseth
  3. Greg Biffle
  4. Mark Martin
  5. Kasey Kahne
  6. Ryan Newman
  7. Marcos Ambrose
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Jamie McMcMurray
  10. Jimmie Johnson
  11. Paul Menard
  12. A.J. Allmendinger
  13. Denny Hamlin
  14. Joey Logano
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  17. Kyle Busch
  18. Clint Bowyer
  19. Trevor Bayne
  20. Carl Edwards
  21. David Ragan
  22. Casey Mears
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Jeff Burton
  25. Juan Pablo Montoya
  26. Regan Smith
  27. Kurt Busch
  28. Landon Cassill
  29. Tony Stewart
  30. Bobby Labonte
  31. David Reutimann
  32. Josh Wise
  33. Michael McDowell
  34. Jeff Gordon
  35. David Gilliland
  36. J.J. Yeley
  37. Travis Kvapil
  38. Scott Speed
  39. Reed Sorenson
  40. Scott Riggs
  41. Dave Blaney
  42. Tony Raines
  43. Mike Bliss
Tags: , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.