Pocono Raceway Starting Lineup: Joey Logano Tops Qualifying for Third Career Pole

August 6, 2011 No Comments

Jerry Markland/Getty Images

Joey Logano showed why he deserves to drive the No. 20 for Joe Gibbs Racing as he captured his second pole of the 2011 season.

Logano, who went out 26th in Saturday morning’s qualifying session, turned 172.055 mph lap around the 2.5 mile triangular track to earn his third career pole. A ray of sunshine following Logano’s lap raised the track temperature, shunning any other drivers from reaching the 172 mph mark.

“Obviously, we have a really fast race car,” said Logano. “Starting up front with clean air is worth a million bucks here. It’s unreal, but it’s like that everywhere now since all the cars are so close. Being able to start up front and getting a good pit stall — all that stuff is definitely going to help us out a lot for Sunday. Pretty pumped up about that.”

Kasey Kahne will start on the outside pole for the second week in a row. Martin Truex Jr.’s third place qualifying run will give him his best starting position of the 2011 season. Points leader and free agent “no-more” Carl Edwards will start fourth with Kurt Busch in fifth.

Four-time Pocono winner Denny Hamlin qualified sixth and last week’s Brickyard 400 winner Paul Menard will start seventh. Jeff Burton, Greg Biffle and Kevin Harvick rounded out the top 10.

Jeff Gordon, who won the June race at Pocono, brushed the wall during his qualifying run, slightly damaging the right rear quarter-panel and relegating him to a 31st starting position.

Three drivers failed to make the 43 car field – Geoffrey Bodine, T.J. Bell and Mike Skinner.

Here is the starting lineup for Sunday’s Good Sam RV Insurance 500:
1. Joey Logano
2. Kasey Kahne
3. Martin Truex, Jr.
4. Carl Edwards
5. Kurt Busch
6. Denny Hamlin
7. Paul Menard
8. Jeff Burton
9. Greg Biffle
10. Kevin Harvick
11. Kyle Busch
12. Ryan Newman
13. Brad Keselowski
14. Clint Bowyer
15. David Ragan
16. Jamie McMurray
17. Regan Smith
18. Jimmie Johnson
19. Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
20. Matt Kenseth
21. Dave Blaney
22. Bobby Labonte
23. Juan Pablo Montoya
24. David Gilliland
25. Mark Martin
26. Brian Vickers
27. Marcos Ambrose
28. Tony Stewart
29. AJ Allmendinger
30. Todd Bodine
31. Jeff Gordon
32. Casey Mears
33. David Reutimann
34. J.J. Yeley
35. Erik Darnell
36. Landon Cassill
37. David Stremme
38. Robby Gordon
39. Travis Kvapil
40. Scott Speed
41. Jason White
42. Andy Lally
43. Joe Nemechek

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.