Richmond International Raceway Sprint Cup Starting Lineup: David Reutimann Top Qualifier for Saturday Night’s Wonderful Pistachios 400

September 9, 2011 No Comments

Geoff Burke/Getty Images

David Reutimann certainly hasn’t been the talk of the garage lately, being that he sits 28th in points – locked outside of the Chase, but that didn’t stop him from stealing the storylines Friday afternoon.

Reutimann snagged his first pole since Dover of 2009 with a lap of 21.196 seconds, 127.383 mph. The pole is the fourth of Reutimann’s career in 161 career starts.

“The guys have been really really working hard,” said Reutimann. “It’s no secret that we haven’t had the season we wanted to have. This definitely starts the weekend off right and obviously gives us a good starting position and great pit selection. Really proud of my guys.”

Jamie McMurray was bumped off of the provisional pole with only six drivers to go but his 127.834 mph lap held on for a second place starting position. Hendrick Motorsports teammates Jimmie Johnson and Mark Martin qualified third and fourth.

A trio of Richard Childress Racing teammates occupied positions five through seven, with the charge being led by Chase hopeful Clint Bowyer – Kevin Harvick qualified sixth, Jeff Burton in seventh. Carl Edwards, A.J. Allmendinger and Juan Pablo Montoya rounded out the top 10.

Three drivers failed to qualify: Mike Skinner, Erik Darnell and T.J. Bell.

Wonderful Pistachios 400 Starting Lineup:
1. David Reutimann
2. Jamie McMurray
3. Jimmie Johnson
4. Mark Martin
5. Clint Bowyer
6. Jeff Burton
7. Kevin Harvick
8. Carl Edwards
9. A.J. Allmendinger
10. Juan Pablo Montoya
11. Kurt Busch
12. Kasey Kahne
13. Kyle Busch
14. Greg Biffle
15. Paul Menard
16. Joey Logano
17. Jeff Gordon
18. Ryan Newman
19. Brad Keselowski
20. David Ragan
21. Landon Cassill
22. Tony Stewart
23. Regan Smith
24. Brian Vickers
25. Matt Kenseth
26. David Stremme
27. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
28. Denny Hamlin
29. Martin Truex Jr.
30. Casey Mears
31. Michael McDowell
32. Bobby Labonte
33. Marcos Ambrose
34. Dave Blaney
35. Travis Kvapil
36. David Gilliland
37. Robby Gordon
38. Andy Lally
39. Joe Nemechek
40. Stephen Leicht
41. Scott Speed
42. J.J. Yeley
43. Mike Bliss

Tags: , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.