Samsung Mobile 500: Matt Kenseth Snaps Winless Streak

April 9, 2011 No Comments

Credit: Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

Matt Kenseth snapped a 76 winless streak Saturday night at the Texas Motor Speedway. Kenseth dominated all race, leading 169 of the 334 laps in the Samsung Mobile 500.

The majority of the laps in which Kenseth did not lead were either led by Roush Fenway Racing teammates (David Ragan/ Greg Biffle) or cars with different pit strategies (Brad Keselowski/Kurt Busch).

Kenseth’s last win came in 2009 at Auto Club Speedway, which was also with crew chief, Drew Blickensderfer. Saturday night’s win was the first with crew chief, Jimmy Fennig.

The win in Saturday night’s Samsung Mobile 500 was Kenseth’s second at Texas Motor Speedway and the 19th of his Sprint Cup career.

Kenseth now finds himself sitting third in the Sprint Cup Series points standings, only 13 points behind points leader and Roush Fenway Racing teammate, Carl Edwards.

Carl Edwards finished in the third after battling an upset stomach all race.

“She cooked a little something up last night that I don’t think was too good.”

Clint Bowyer, who finished just ahead of Edwards in second, joked with Edwards after the race.

“I’ll cook for you next week!”

Edward’s laughed and said, “Yeah, I’ll bet.”

Here are the official results from the Samsung Mobile 500 at Texas Motor Speedway:
1. Matt Kenseth
2. Clint Bowyer
3. Carl Edwards
4. Greg Biffle
5. Paul Menard
6. Marcos Ambrose
7. David Ragan
8. Jimmie Johnson
9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
10. Kurt Busch
11. Jeff Burton
12. Tony Stewart
13. Juan Pablo Montoya
14. Ryan Newman
15. Denny Hamlin
16. Kyle Busch
17. Trevor Bayne
18. Brad Keselowski
19. AJ Allmendinger
20. Kevin Harvick
21. Kasey Kahne
22. Jamie McMurray
23. Jeff Gordon
24. Joey Logano
25. Bobby Labonte
26. Casey Mears
27. Brian Vickers
28. Landon Cassill
29. David Reutimann
30. Dave Blaney
31. Robby Gordon
32. Andy Lally
33. Ken Schrader
34. Tony Raines
35. Martin Truex Jr.
36. Mark Martin
37. Regan Smith
38. David Starr
39. Joe Nemechek
40. Michael McDowell
41. JJ Yeley
42. David Gilliland
43. Mike Skinner

Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.