Statistical Advance: Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

July 27, 2011 No Comments

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Data

Track Size: 2.5 miles
• Race Length: 400 miles (160 laps)
• Banking/Corners: 9 degrees
• Banking/Straights: 0 degrees


· Indianapolis Motor Speedway has existed since 1909, and is the original “Speedway,” the first racing facility to incorporate the word in its name.
· With a permanent seating capacity for more than 250,000-plus people and infield seating that raises capacity to an approximate 400,000, it is the largest and highest-capacity sporting facility in history.
· There have been 17 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since the first race, in 1994.
· Four drivers have competed in all 17 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Mark Martin.
· Rick Mast won the first pole, in 1994.
· Jeff Gordon won the 1994 inaugural race.
· There have been 14 different pole winners.
· Jeff Gordon leads all pole winners, with three.
· 10 drivers have won, led by Jeff Gordon, with four victories.
· Jimmie Johnson (three), Dale Jarrett and Tony Stewart (two each) are the other multiple winners.
· Hendrick Motorsports has won seven races, more than any other organization.
· Three of the last five Indianapolis races ending under green had a margin of victory under one second.
· 14 of the 17 races have been won by a past, reigning or future NASCAR Sprint Cup champion. The only three that were not: Ricky Rudd in 1997, Kevin Harvick in 2003 and Jamie McMurray in 2010.

Driver Rating at Indianapolis

Tony Stewart 109.3
Juan Montoya 106.4
Mark Martin 105.3
Jimmie Johnson 100.1
Greg Biffle 97.7
Kevin Harvick 95.1
Jeff Burton 95.0
Kyle Busch 94.0
Mike Bliss 93.4
Jeff Gordon 92.7

Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2010 races (6 total) at Indianapolis.

Qualifying/Race Data

2010 pole winner: Juan P. Montoya, (182.278 mph, 49.375 seconds)
2010 race winner: Jamie McMurray, (136.054 mph, July 25, 2010)
Track qualifying record: Casey Mears, (186.293 mph, 48.311 seconds, August 7, 2004)
Track race record: Bobby Labonte, (155.912 mph, August 5, 2000)

Statistical Advance

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.