Statistical Advance: HELUVA GOOD! Sour Cream Dips 400 At Michigan International Speedway

June 17, 2011 No Comments

Michigan International Speedway Data

Track Size: 2 miles
· Race Length: 400 miles
· Banking/Corners: 18 degrees
· Banking/Frontstretch: 12 degrees
· Banking/Backstretch: 5 degrees


· Michigan International Speedway sits on more than 1,400 acres in the “Irish Hills” of Southeastern Michigan. Ground-breaking took place on Sept. 28, 1967.
· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Michigan was held June 15, 1969.
· The track was known as Michigan Speedway during the time Roger Penske was the primary owner (1996-99).
· There have been 83 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Michigan International Speedway since the first race there in 1969. Other than 1973, which had just one race, there have been two races each season since 1969.
· Donnie Allison won the first pole.
· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was won by Cale Yarborough.
· There have been 40 different pole winners, led by David Pearson, with 10.
· 33 different drivers have won races, led by David Pearson (nine); 18 have more than one victory there.
· The Wood Brothers and Roush Fenway Racing both have 11 wins, more than any other car owners.

Driver Rating at Michigan International Speedway

Carl Edwards 110.5
Jimmie Johnson 110.3
Greg Biffle 104.8
Matt Kenseth 101.2
Denny Hamlin 98.3
Tony Stewart 97.9
Jeff Gordon 96.2
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 95.9
Kurt Busch 95.3
Brian Vickers 93.6

Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2011 races (12 total) at Michigan.

Qualifying/Race Data

2010 pole winner: Kurt Busch, 189.984 mph, 37.898 seconds
2010 race winner: Denny Hamlin, 156.386 mph, 7-13-10)
Track qualifying record: Ryan Newman (194.232 mph, 37.069 seconds, (6-18-05)
Track race record: Dale Jarrett (173.997 mph, 6-13-99)

Statistical Advance

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.