Statistical Advance: Pure Michigan 400 At Michigan International Speedway

August 18, 2011 No Comments

Michigan International Speedway Data
Track Size: 2 miles
· Race Length: 400 miles
· Banking/Corners: 18 degrees
· Banking/Frontstretch: 12 degrees
· Banking/Backstretch: 5 degrees


· Michigan International Speedway sits on more than 1,400 acres in the “Irish Hills” of Southeastern Michigan. Ground-breaking took place on Sept. 28, 1967.
· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Michigan was held June 15, 1969.
· The track was known as Michigan Speedway during the time Roger Penske was the primary owner (1996-99).
· There have been 84 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Michigan International Speedway since the first race there in 1969. Other than 1973, which had just one race, there have been two races each season since 1969.
· The first race was 500 miles in length; the second was scheduled for 600. The track was re-measured to 2.04 miles for the last race in 1970 and both races in 1971 – with the race distance being 402 miles. All other races have been scheduled for 400 miles.
· Donnie Allison won the first pole.
· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was won by Cale Yarborough.
· There have been 40 different pole winners, led by David Pearson with 10. Mark Martin has five poles.
· 33 different drivers have won races, led by David Pearson (nine); 18 have more than one victory there.
· The race winner has started from the pole 16 times, the most productive starting position. Brian Vickers (August 2009)was the last driver to win from the pole.
· The Wood Brothers and Roush Fenway Racing both have 11 wins, more than any other car owners.
· Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth and Denny Hamlin are the only active drivers to average a top-10 finish. Edwards, who has two Michigan wins, has an average finish of 6.2. Coincidentally, Edwards’ first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series start came at Michigan. Kenseth, who also has two victories, has an average finish of 9.5. Hamlin’s average finish is 10.0.

Driver Rating at Michigan

Carl Edwards 110.8
Greg Biffle 106.1
Jimmie Johnson 105.3
Matt Kenseth 103.5
Denny Hamlin 99.1
Tony Stewart 97.5
Kurt Busch 96.5
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 94.5
Jeff Gordon 94.4
Brian Vickers 93.9

Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2010 races (13 total) at Michigan.

Qualifying/Race Data

2010 pole winner: Kasey Kahne, 187.183 mph, 38.465 seconds
2010 race winner: Kevin Harvick, 144.029 mph, 8-15-10)
Track qualifying record: Ryan Newman (194.232 mph, 37.069 seconds, (6-18-05)
Track race record: Dale Jarrett (173.997 mph, 6-13-99)

Statistical Advance

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.