Statistical Advance: Sylvania 300 At New Hampshire Motor Speedway

September 23, 2011 No Comments

New Hampshire Motor Speedway Data

Track Size: 1.058 miles
Race Length: 317.4 miles (300 laps)
Banking/Corners: Variable at 2 & 7 degrees
Banking/Straights: 1 degree


· Groundbreaking for New Hampshire International Speedway, as New Hampshire Motor Speedway was originally named, was Aug. 13, 1989.
· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was on July 11, 1993.
· Renamed New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2008.
· There have been 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; one per year from 1993 through 1996 and two per year since.
· Four drivers have competed in all 33 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Joe Nemechek.
· Mark Martin won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup pole.
· Rusty Wallace won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race.
· There have been 17 different pole winners, led by Ryan Newman (five).
· 20 different drivers have won, led by Jeff Burton (four).
· Jimmie Johnson (2003) and Kurt Busch (2004) are the only drivers that have posted season sweeps. Those are also the only back-to-back winners.
· Hendrick Motorsports has won eight races, more than any other organization.
· There have been five winners who started from the pole. The last race winner to win from the pole was Ryan Newman this past July.
· Jeff Burton led all 300 laps raced in the 2000 fall race.
· Five drivers got their first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win at New Hampshire: Joe Nemechek (1999), Robby Gordon (2001), Ryan Newman (2002), Clint Bowyer (2007) and Joey Logano (2009).

Driver Rating at New Hampshire

Tony Stewart 114.0
Jeff Gordon 107.3
Jimmie Johnson 105.8
Denny Hamlin 100.5
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 97.1
Kurt Busch 95.4
Jeff Burton 95.0
Ryan Newman 94.6
Clint Bowyer 94.5
Kevin Harvick 91.1

Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2011 races (13 total) at New Hampshire.

Qualifying/Race Data

2010 pole winner: Brad Keselowski (133.572 mph, 28.515 seconds)
2010 race winner: Clint Bowyer (106.769 mph, 09-19-10)
Track qualifying record: Brad Keselowski (133.572 mph, 28.515 sec., 09-19-10)
Track race record: Jeff Burton (117.134 mph, 7-13-97)

Statistical Advance

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.