Statistical Advance: Wonderful Pistachios 400 At Richmond International Raceway

September 9, 2011 No Comments

Richmond International Raceway Data

Track Size: .75 miles
· Banking/Corners: 14 degrees
· Banking/Frontstretch: 8 degrees
· Banking/Backstretch: 2 degrees
· Frontstretch: 1,290 feet
· Backstretch: 860 feet


· Originally known as the Atlantic Rural Exposition Fairgrounds, Richmond International Raceway held its first race in 1946 as a half-mile dirt track.
· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was April 19, 1953.
· The spring 1964 race was run on a Tuesday night under temporary lighting.
· The track name changed to Virginia State Fairgrounds in 1967.
· The track surface was changed from dirt to asphalt between races in 1968.
· The track name changed to Richmond Fairgrounds Raceway in 1969.
· The track was re-measured to .542-mile for 1970.
· The track was rebuilt as a three-quarters-mile D-shaped oval following the Feb. 21, 1988 race.
· The first race under permanent lights was Sept. 7, 1991.
· The first season with both races as night races was 1999.
· There have been 110 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Richmond since the track opened in 1953.
· The current 400-lap race length was established on the .542-mile measurement in March 1976.
· Buck Baker won the pole in 1953.
· Lee Petty won the first race in April 1953.
· There have been 49 different pole winners, led by Bobby Allison and Richard Petty (eight).
· Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with five poles.
· 47 different drivers have posted victories at Richmond, led by Richard Petty (13).
· Dale Earnhardt Jr., Tony Stewart, Kyle Busch, Terry Labonte and Jimmie Johnson (three) lead active race winners.
· Petty Enterprises has won 15 races at Richmond, more than any other team.

Driver Rating at Richmond

Denny Hamlin 120.4
Kyle Busch 116.0
Kevin Harvick 110.2
Clint Bowyer 97.9
Jeff Gordon 97.8
Tony Stewart 95.9
Ryan Newman 92.6
Mark Martin 92.2
Kurt Busch 91.2
Jimmie Johnson 88.7

Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2011 races (13 total) at Richmond.

Qualifying/Race Data

2010 pole winner: Carl Edwards (127.762 mph, 21.133 seconds)
2010 race winner: Denny Hamlin (104.096 mph, 9-11-10)
Track qualifying record: Brian Vickers (129.983, 20.772 seconds, 5-14-04)
Track race record: Dale Jarrett (109.047 mph, 9-6-97)

Statistical Advance

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.